SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

The Cambridge Half Marathon

At 9.30am this morning 4,000 crazy people lined up on the start line for the Cambridge Half Marathon. That's not too crazy I hear you say - many people run these days. True but most of the time it isn't snowing while you wait for the start. Yes, 4,000 waited for the correct start time getting colder and colder as snow fell from the sky. Crazy.

Although when the race got under way the cold soon was forgotten (well not forgotten but put slightly further back in the mind) as the task of running 13.1 miles began. It was a really nice route round town, a double lap as Cambridge isn't too big, but that helped to bring some brave supporters out from the warm into the cold to cheer us on. They were the real stars of today, as even though it was cold for the runners we at least got to move around and run! Thank you to those who turned up and supported everyone so well.

I finished the run in 1 hour 33 minutes and 47 seconds which I was extremely happy about as it is a new PB for me and I thought I earned it today with a quick, consistent pace. Congratulations to my friends Katie and Michaela for PBs and to Dom for completing his first ever half marathon. Congratulations to everyone else I know who completed the run and to all of those I don't know too.

The blip is of the medal (the main reason for running in events!) and the finish line. The main reason I like this one rather than others I took is because of the lady crossing the finishing line and dipping slightly, pretending for that moment to she was a true athlete. Today, all those who took part should feel that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.