Fruity Vegetable

I've found the perfect partner for my comedy carrot!!!!!!

Meanwhile, the continuation of yesterday's saga:

"Mr X, come and meet Amanda" Cajoled Paul
He looked up from his now empty plate.
"Hello Mr X" I said,
"Hello" he said in a disinterested way, replenishing his plate.

"So Mr X what do you do ?" Is probably not the best opening question I've ever used, but as I was supposedly with the guy in the other room who was currently getting slaughtered with his mates, I was simply being polite ( or nosey)

He told me and initially I thought, somewhat scathingly, 'This bloke is a blipping Pikey.'

I don't want to give too much away about Mr X just in case he is recognised, so some of the following may be a little sketchy.

On further interrogation it transpired I couldn't have been more wrong. I knew from his answers that what he had described as his 'job' must be a hobby, and one that would need significant funding.
When I said "So what's your day job Mr X?" I knew, that he knew, that I knew, and he grinned broadly.
We had an extraordinary amount of common ground, on both work and leisure fronts. We found we even had a mutual friend. The conversation flowed. The more I learnt, the more I wondered why he was at this party.
"What are you doing here?" I asked
"I've gate crashed with Paul, he works for me, we were in the pub down the road and Paul said he knew where we could get some food. I was starving!" Like me, he didn't know anyone else.

After half an hour of constant chat, his phone rang.
"Excuse me" and then "I'm so sorry I have to leave, I need to collect my daughter"
"Go" I said "That's what dads have to do." Thinking anyway that I ought to get back to my friend.
"Do you have a contact number?" He asked to my surprise.
"Here, I've got a business card" I said rummaging in my bag "It's got my email."
He planted a kiss on my cheek and left. I went and found my friend and thought no more of Mr X, assuming it had been a case of passing ships in the night.
My friend was not amused - neither was he sober.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.