Time on my Hands

With time to spare as I waited for a tram to the Gyle this morning, I took this blip of the steps from Princes Street Gardens up to the corner of Princes Street and the Mound with Allan Ramsay in his night cap standing sentinel amongst the foliage.
He was an 18th Century writer and poet born in Edinburgh during the Enlightenment who started the first circulating library on the Royal Mile. He encouraged the writing of poetry in the vernacular. I hope you have been paying attention- I may ask you questions later....

My trip to the Gyle was a purely sociable one today, meeting a friend for coffee. A big fat scone with jam and cream was involved too.
I didn’t venture near the bank, I no longer bank with M&S!

I have Malaysian neighbours and as Eid is tomorrow (I think!) I have baked them a big chocolate cake in celebration.
My oven shelf must not be level because my cakes always come out lopsided and I have to match the thinner side of the underneath cake with the fat side of the top cake so that the whole thing is level. Still, I mustn’t complain, at least there was no sinkage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.