Beinghere

By Beinghere

Elie Lighthouse

All of the area around the lighthouse is actually lava, or was once lava. I find it fascinating to see where and how the flow of lava cooled.

It’s been a lovely sunny day here with no wind.
Geordie and I went to Ruby Bay at Elie for our walk today. There’s a very long beach facing south and the coastal path runs just parallel to the beach. We planned to walk along the beach and back the path but instead stuck to the beach.
I sat for a while on the beach and just enjoyed the sound of the water lapping on the sand and pebbles, while Geordie dug a hole right in front of me. Then he lay down so I covered his front legs in sand and he just watched me.
When we walked on he found a stick.......and that’s where things went wrong.
If he finds a ball or a stick on a walk he will either drop it for me to throw, or prance around with it as though he has a prize.
Today, and for the first time in months, it was the latter. I knew from the look on his face that he was not going to come near me. So he followed me back to the car, keeping his distance. Although he had his trailing lead he never let me get close enough to even stand on it. When we got back to the car park the picnic area was quite busy, so I knew there was a chance someone might catch him for me. I tried to tempt him with treats to no avail, then one couple began talking to him and coaxing him with food, and managed to catch him. What a relief. Usually I need to “phone a friend”, but today thankfully “asking the audience” worked. He was perfectly happy then, almost relieved. I think I need to learn to lasso!

Once home I put my wee plants out in the homemade cold frame, then sowed more seeds in the propagators. Osteospermum and mesembryanthemum this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.