How not to use a cycle lane

After work today I walked across Grafton Bridge into K Road. Off to the book launch for S' tutor and mentor when she did her Master of Creative Writing. Its the first tim in a couple of months I've been on K Road, and I was pleased to see that the cycle lanes appear finished.

I saw no cyclist in either cycle lane; a couple on electric scooters were speeding along the wrong way, and must have been aware of that from the large arrow painted in the path.

Of course, cyclists could not have used the path on the other side as the large vehicle is parked illegally across the cycle lane and footpath. The cyclist in my photo was unable to use the cycle path at that point.

With the K Road changes producing cycle paths it is disappointing that the paths may be underutilised, except for illegal parking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.