38s and over

Late afternoon a flurry of excitement as news is now circulating about 38 and 39 year olds being able to book in for their Covid jabs from tomorrow. Many of the early 40-somethings I know seem to have had unpleasant side effects, so I’m not wild about getting the jab, but know it’s the only real right thing to do, especially if I’m going to be travelling again soon.

Meanwhile, more wranglings on the visa front. I have to get a police clearance certificate before the Mozambican authorities will deal with my visa application. I was surprised to get notified that the certificate had been issued without question as I thought my address history in recent years would raise eyebrows in the same way as it raises my blood pressure.

During emails about documents and processes, at least an entertaining interlude about my colleague Alison’s overlanding travels around Africa in 1991. Apparently Zanzibari postal staff used to forward on mail to addresses in Nairobi, who would forward them onto Cairo. Conversely I remember that some cards people sent to me in Maputo around Christmas 2018 never arrived before I realised Mozambique doesn’t have a functioning postal system. Maybe they’ve arrived in the 14 months I’ve been in visa limbo.

Alison was celebrating as something she’s recently couriered to Mozambique arrived within five days, so that’s at least some good news. Her tales made me want to jump on a bus and cross the Sahara.

Botolph Lane is always a quiet alternative to the main thoroughfare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.