California King Snake

Spike and I had quite an adventure this morning, adventures, like life these days being a series of small events. We had to walk through the field to get to the road and by the time we reached it I had to spend ten minutes pulling all manner of weed seeds out of his fur. His ears are like weed magnet mops. I'm afraid some grooming is called for. I like his unkempt look but the weed magnet look is going too far. 

We met a guy who had arrived to mow the property we were passing. The house burned in the last fire, and the people who lived there moved on.  The fellow, he said his name was Rusty, told me the lot has been purchased by his...brother? cousin? who intends to build on it. He said he was a 'jack of all trades' during these hard times and he did look a bit rough around the edges, but he greeted Spike and Spike wasn't put off despite the weed whacker he was carrying. He offered me his phone number in case we had any mowing to be done. I didn't tell him that we have about two and a half acres' worth, but I took his number....

As we were walking down the middle of the road, staying away from the weeds, we encountered today's subject, a California King Snake. I wanted to take its picture but I didn't want Spike to encounter it so I took this image at arm's length, then tied Spike to a mailbox and walked back, but missed  a close up as it was just disappearing into the weeds....another reason to keep Spike out of the grass. King snakes aren't poisonous, but the tall grass is also rattlesnake territory. Although Spike was only fifty feet away, he was so happy when I untied him from the mailbox that he rolled over on his back in the weeds. Another ten minutes of weed picking ensued. 

We passed the barking dogs without incident, although I did have to keep Spike on a tight leash and talk him  through it. He did well and didn't try to rip my arm off . We checked out what on earth they are building behind the big white fence on the corner. They have put in a swimming pool surrounded by concrete and are now constructing what appears to be a large cabaña or guest house. 

I left the door open while I took my Pilates class and Spike sat on his mat in the doorway and watched, licking his legs and paws like a cat. Too bad he can't lick his ears....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.