Are we there yet?

By CMHW

Successful angling morning

Met up with my good friend Gordon at Blackdyke Trout Fishery for a spot of fly fishing. Caught four in total, the first on a dry Mayfly, the next on a black emerger and the last two on a second black emerger.

Gordon meanwhile had three himself, all on the same black flies I had used as he borrowed them from my fly box each time.

By the time we had set up, the trout were feeding well on emerging blackthorn flies. So after the first one I caught on a brown mayfly, I switched to small black floatin flies and had great success.

Got home and scaled and gutted them and gave the 2lb specimen pictured to our newly arrived Airbnb Guests from the Cardiff area of Wales, whom are staying in our cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.