Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Flying puffins

Today we return to Bempton. The weather is actually much better than on Monday- warm sunshine and a gentle breeze rather than the high winds. 

This time our puffin search is more successful, most cliffs having one or two of the little cuties secreted on a ledge - the ‘fun’ is finding them. There’s a sense of camaraderie amongst us watchers, each passing on their sightings to the next - though offering directions  isn’t easy with only rocks and ledges as a guide. At one point we find a group of five who seem to scuffle around querulously before flying off one by one. And today it is puffin flight that I want to capture. 

Now there’s the challenge. These little birds almost disappear amongst the frantic comings and goings of seabird city. They’re far enough away as it is, and if I take my focus off the viewfinder for a single second, I know that will be the moment that they lean forward on those gorgeous little orange feet and fly off from the cliff face. Even if I catch this moment, holding focus on these little birds is nigh impossible. 

Of course, there is the chance of getting them on their return trip, flying back from fishing expeditions. But this is even harder, and but for some blurry shots of black and white and orange, I have nothing. 

Of course, there’s so much else to focus on at Bempton. There’s guillemots and razor bills, difficult to capture from their almost featureless blackness - but today there’s sunshine on the cliffs, if they are in the right place at the right time that is. And then there’s my first love - the gannets, such majestic birds. We watch couples seemingly entwined in romance, gannet gardeners plucking up the grass for nesting sites, and expert aviators riding   thermal flows to glide across the skies or expertly come into land on tiny ledges. 

So today’s main is a flying puffin. It’s not the best photo that I’ve taken today, but it’s the one that’s taken the most effort! And in the extras there are gannets, a razor bill and a guillemot. It seemed important not to leave them out! 

I’ve loved every minute of the Bempton experience, but I can honesty admit to being physically and mentally shattered! I know I’m currently not keeping up with comments etc - but thank you so much for the lovely comments, hearts and stars this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.