The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

It's not always easy

The challenge today was to help L, whose mind is confused with dementia, through a video call with the doctor. This involved her coming to my house to use my laptop.

Perfectly understandable Q: 'Is the doctor at your house?'
A: No, he is at the surgery round the corner, but we have to speak to him on my laptop. He will ask you a few questions about how you feel and then we may need to go to the surgery.
Q: Can't we just go to the surgery and see him now?
A: No, unfortunately we can't do that because.....etc

Once I'd typed in a few details on the surgery website we sat and waited.
L, sitting beside me, is puzzled to read 'You are now in the doctor's waiting room'
(Not strictly true and not very helpful if you sometimes have trouble understanding where you are)

It got easier when the familiar face of the doctor appeared on the screen. (though slightly off-putting when his image froze).  He was chatty and put the patient at her ease. She, as she told him, didn't know why she was speaking to him, as she was feeling fine.
I reminded her it was because of the palpitations she'd had this morning.

It all ended well. No need for further action today. 

We had a drive round and found a caddy lamb whose owner obligingly brought him over to the car so we could stroke him. I really enjoyed that bit. I think for L the best part was getting home and having a cup of tea and a chocolate biscuit.

A pleasant evening walk - though woolly hat and gloves were essential. I keep trying to get a photo of the patterns made by the new shoots of the crops coming through. Here is today's attempt.
 
Taken above Burray village, looking over to the mainland of Orkney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.