Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Day at the Zoo

I started my volunteer role at the Zoo this morning - I picked up my uniform and was basically given a tour of the zoo and shown what I would need to do, but will get more training next week as indoor sites re-open with the relaxing of lockdown.  I will mostly be managing the social distancing and one way systems for the time being, but as it's a fairly small zoo, there will be plenty of opportunity to see the animals.  Once I'd finished, they were happy for me to stay and wander round the zoo with my camera.  They have a couple of volunteer photographers so hopefully I may be able to progress to that role in time.

I spent a couple of hours there finding my way around and photographing the animals and I've added some extras, but I particularly loved the red pandas.  I've never seen one up close, they're usually right at the top of trees, so this had to be my blip today.

I then went into Llandudno as I had a few things I needed to do, and picked up some food shopping from Asda.  Then tonight, we had Friday night date night in the conservatory - it's not quite the Palace, but it'll do until we build one.  We had a nice bottle of champagne to toast our new house, I had bought it for our first night, but we were so tired with all the unpacking that we decided to save it until we could enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.