Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

ANNIE BAROUR

...as she was in her engagement photograph, circa 1934. Born Clydebank October 1910, emigrated with her mother to Australia circa 1913, returned to Scotland later with her widowed Mother and two younger brothers. Supported the family by working at polishing needles in Singers factory in Clydebank for ten years until she married my Dad. Survived the depression and being bombed out of her home in the Clydebank Blitz. Had seven children and never much opportunity to realise her own dreams. I was her last, born when she was 40. She didn't have a washing machine until I was 13 and her arm muscles were huge from scrubbing clothes and turning a wringer.

We had a sometimes strained relationship. Maybe she wanted me to realise her dreams, maybe she envied me my freedoms and hated how I squandered them. Maybe she was just too tired when I was born, or maybe, just maybe, I was the kid from hell.

She had a way of giving a compliment which always had a sting in the tail:

'You are such a bonny looking lass, but I wish you wouldn't wear these earrings. They make you look like a whore'

and

'You could look so attractive, if you would only brush your hair now and then'

and, looking at my wedding picture:

Well, if nothing else, at least you have always had good teeth'

Thanks for all the good wishes. Didn't stir far from my bed today. Not really unwell but just generally sore, weary and 'yon way'. Probably overdid it in the last week or so. Hoping to bounce out of bed with my usual zeal tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.