Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

No Dig Beds

It was relatively recently, whilst viewing a gardening YouTube channel for tips on a specific topic that I've now forgotten (backblipping in mid-May), that I discovered (thanks to their algorithm), a gentleman by the name of Charles Dowding. I'd been aware of the no-dig method previously, but hadn't looked into it, yet here was an absolute legend of gardening, dishing out advice on a plate.

It soon struck me that the combination of dispensing with the spade, minimising weed growth, maintaining moisture in the soil (a key driver in our light sandy loam) and strong growth, meant that this approach for me was a no-brainer.

So in mid August last year, I had a plan and started to turn it into reality. Despite a few teething problems, I have been amazed at the transformation and especially, the ease with which vegetables grow strongly.

More on that story, later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.