The second half of life..

By twigs

Tiger Skin Fungi

Those who know about such things though, will tell you this is a Pholiota aurivella fungi.  Spotted when I was leaving the Brook Waimarama Sanctuary this afternoon after a short orientation walk where I was testing a few things out.  I recently decided to become a friend of the sanctuary so that I can make more visits there over the next year or so in the hope of spotting one of 40 recently introduced tieke (Saddleback) birds.  No sign today of many birds at all, let alone the new boys on the block so my camera got hardly any use..........until I spied these guys as I was leaving.........a large clump of them sprouting from the presumably rotting heart of a kowhai tree.  This is produced from a stack of some 19 images - it shows promise but there are a lot of improvements I could make.  Gotta love that ol' learning curve!


I did meet and chat to an interesting chap on my short walk - he reckons he saw a [presumed to have died out 50-odd years ago] South Island Kokako in the Nelson area some time ago.........that adds another dimension to any future walks in the sanctuary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.