I was feeling less than 100% today, tired and headachy, and himself allowed me the grace to sit around and do nothing. 


I sat as he repotted tomatoes, chillis, peppers, for my work colleagues,   I sat as he sawed down a tree.  I sat as he busied himself in the garden.    I sat as tidied up the mess I left behind me.  He came and sat beside me for a while after he was all cleaned up, and together we sat and watched the bees doing their pollination dance around the apple trees.   We watched the starlings screeching at the sparrows to get away from their peanuts.  We watched the cats pretend not to look at each other and then fight. 


And then.  He came inside and watched the football. 


he deserves it. 


And I'm feeling much better after my rest.





Leisure

William Henry Davies

What is this life if,  full of care
We have no time to stop and stare

No time to stop beneath the boughs
and stare as long as sheep or cows

 No time to see, when woods we pass
Where Squirrels hide their nuts in grass

No time to see in broad daylight
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty's  glance
And watch her feet, how she can dance.

No time to wait while her mouth can
enrich The smile her eyes began

A poor life this if, full of care
We have no time to stop and stare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.