From litte things................

Inspired from Dave's Blip yesterday of his MASSIVE chestnut tree, I had to take a look at my little seedlings. I collected the conkers last autumn at the tree in the forest that I have often Bliped next to the foresters/hunters hut.

Normally I then go home and spread the conkers & also acorns, all around our garden in the external hedge borders. Not sure if they ever have taken but at worst a squirrel or deer may discover them as food! But this time I left the conkers in the (empty!) dog-poo bag I collected them in and left it inadvertently in the car boot all winter. When I had to get the car MoT done in March, cleared everything out and discovered the chestnuts were  sprouting roots, seemingly the plastic bag maintaining just enough moisture. So took a selection of 15 and popped them in pots and low and behold, 12 (so far) have now emerged.

I would love to give them a fighting chance of growing into something bigger but not yet sure how best to go about it. I doubt planting them in the hedges at this stage will work, and I am considering digging a trench somewhere safe to let them grow in a "Tree Kindergarten" for a few years. A bit worried that simply growing in pots will result at some time in forgetting to water them, and they will be lost. Any views?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.