Holiday May 2021

Backblip Sunday 9th May
We're at home now, but a week ago we travelled down to Watergate Bay in Cornwall. This was the trip booked for 2020 and postponed for obvious reasons.
During the past year when I have been fretting about the pandemic and all that it brought to the world, Watergate Bay has been my “happy place”. I would go to sleep picturing Rob and I on the beach, listening to the crashing of the waves and taking photos.
So, you can imagine my delight when we arrived at 5pm, were down on the beach 45 minutes later, with no more than 6 other people there and at times having the place to ourselves.
I had been concerned that with the hotel and restaurants not open it wouldn’t be such a good trip (food being a big part of our holidays) However there was a van doing coffee and cake every day and the surf bar did great take away food.  The apartment was modern and well kitted out and I cooked three nights too. The benefit of the hotel not being open was that the County was really quiet and there were no traffic jams and no difficulty getting into car parks.
The weather was much better than forecast and we wrapped up against the wind and managed to dodge the showers very successfully. The fact we managed to walk on the beach every morning was just really special.
A couple of extras, the waves when we arrived and our first selfie on the beach.
I'll blip the other days over the course of the next few. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.