Amal or Kate?

Did you know that traditionally there is an official way that ladies have their hats trimmed? 
This stems back to the day when they would be accompanied by a gentleman with a sword, and so as to avoid cutting off his lady's hat trim, the lady would have her trim on the right, over her right eye.
On the high street 90% of hats are trimmed that way! The Duchess of Cambridge wears hers the traditional way, but I was pleased to see Amal Clooney defying convention and slanting the opposite way!
I am unconventional, and prefer my trim on the left, as it is the way my hair parts.
So for my upcoming commission I have made two examples...  (see the other as an extra) with one slanting each way. These are just pinned at the moment until the client has chosen her preference. 
I'm planning on doing examples of hats both ways for 'Open Studios' as it is a great talking point. 

M has got me a new laptop, with allegedly a better wifi card in it. I'm hoping it will be good enough for me to use in the hat studio.. There has been quite a bit of angst this afternoon setting it up. Still quite a bit to transfer over, as I was using one of his 'old' ones previously..  Will be lovely to have one of my own!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.