A Trip to the Store.

We’re having our first dinner party in months tonight. It’s our coffee group and they are bringing half the food, but still, I seem to have forgotten how to plan for a dinner party, shop for it or cook it. Nothing for it but to dive in and try to banish the Covid brain for a few hours.

As I was perusing the prepared foods in the interests of something easy, this little boy holding what looked like his mother’s phone
caught my eye because he was so captured by the little screen. I peeked over his shoulder and he was watching a D-I-Y video about painting a house. His mother parked him next to the fish counter and I took his picture from around the corner. That’s his mother behind him holding her head as she looks at the prepared food. I never did get back to it.

It wasn’t part of the plan but with several heavy bags of groceries to put away I would up cleaning out the fridge before cramming in more food. I had the door of the fridge open for so long that it started beeping in protest but it looks a lot better (and more healthy!) now.

John and I finished off the more palatable remnants for lunch.

I made not one but two Cardamom cakes. One is a gluten free version made with almond flour and looks a bit deflated but I hope it tastes ok. The other one looks quite nice but cakes are a bit of a mystery to me...especially ones that I’ve never made before. I know cardamom is an squired taste. I hope our guests have acquired it because it has a lot of cardamom seeds in it and I spent forever picking the seeds out of the pods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.