My suburban life

By MsAlliance

Ancient and modern

Into town today to submit my HK driving licence application. Despite the 36 deg heat I walked back to take this blip of a scene I noticed last week. It’s a little garden right next to the Bank of China tower which was, from 1989 to 1992, the tallest building in Asia. You’ll doubtless have seen pictures of it but I was struck by this reference to classical garden design from hundreds of years ago.

A striking contrast to the sharp lines and crosses of the tower, the garden was installed to counteract the tower’s original bad feng shui. Giant rocks were brought from China to represent harmony and stability. The trees were planted to rectify its bad qi and purify the environment.

Extra is a view up to mid levels from one of the maze of elevated walkways that separate people from traffic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.