MerlinJ

By MerlinJ

Random acts of kindness

What do you make of this?

I took a group of 15 people out for a coffee in St Andrew Square. It took some considerable time for the staff at the coffee shop to make my order, which meant a long wait for the man behind me. I really appreciated his patience, so when I came to pay I asked if I could also pay for his order, too. He thanked me, but said No.

Once I'd sat down, I discovered that I had over-ordered, and had a spare cup of hot chocolate. I offered it to people passing by but the first FIVE people I offered it to said No. A man had stopped to watch me and was obviously intrigued at this mad woman attempting to give away a hot drink. I spoke to him for a little while before he finally accepted the drink with a smile.

I have been wondering what the reasons might be in each case.

Meanwhile the stone lion watches it all immutably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.