Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Lucy

I should go to bed earlier when I am planning to drive between Margaret River and Perth otherwise it seems like a much longer journey. I set off around 11.30am and found the first 100kms a bit tough as I was driving the campervan which has a tendency to drift if there is any wind, requiring an effort to steer a straight line. Besides that I was really tired. Anyway, stopped at Bunbury for 30 minutes, had a phonecall to Mum in Adelaide, had a bite to eat, a caffeine fix, chose my dance music playlist on my iPhone and attached headphones, put my sunglasses on and away I went and the next 200kms was much easier than the first.

Had intended to post a photo of Claire and family but that didn't work out and so I was blipless come late afternoon. Today is my son-in-law's (Jamie's) birthday...the big 40!!!! I packed my camera and went over thinking that I might get a photo of the birthday boy, but he is still suffering with the residue of a cold and as it is his day I changed tack and photographed his youngest. He told me he is 20x her age...and I pointed out that I am not even 2x his age...It's all relative. Lucy greeted me with a beautiful smile and for the first time said Nana as soon as she saw me, without being prompted. That is worth celebrating with a blip I think. Lucy is in an old iron bath (good lighting) that is currently in the back garden waiting to be topped up with ice and beverages for Jamie's 40th birthday bash on Saturday (might get a photo of the birthday boy then).

Lucy is 19 months old and a really bright little character. With 3 children of my own and 5 grandchildren I know that babies come into the world with their own personality and they determine to some degree how the world is going to interact with them. Lucy is "gung ho", focussed, confident, able to self amuse and seems as though she is going to grow up to be a strong individual. I watch with interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.