Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Nick and Mathew, L - R and Mathew is correct. :-)

Nick and Mathew are based in the Old Railway Yard at St Agnes. The site has a real Great Western legacy, the station house still exists and is the basis of kits for GWR models. The yard has various buildings, one of them houses a fabricator’s shop which the lads have inherited from their father, who in turn inherited it from his father. This morning they were in the final throes of attaching a beautifully made pair of wrought iron gates. 
If you want to see what they can produce please have a look here.
Extra
Bimbling around in the rain this afternoon I found another bunch of spiders, huddled up against the cold and rain. My Macro skills are somewhat fatigued, as are my knees and back as the nest was only one foot from the ground. This extra is the only presentable image from approximately 85. Still, it was fun messing with the camera and monopod. Be assured that no harm came to any of these bloodthirsty little barstewards, they have been left for the birds to snack on. According to Wiki these are baby yellow orb weaving spiders, Arameus diadematus, judging by the images on Google I haven’t done too badly. I’m just too sexy for my shirt!  

I wrote recently about fishing in Montana and the necessity to make bears aware that you are in the vicinity. This is akin to McDonald’s staff announcing their presence over a PA system in the hood. Some anglers carry a Glock for protection and to create a loud noise, I carried a rod. One fine day Mrs Garden fairy let me go from the car, I took my bag of goodies and rod, waded across the Yellowstone River, which contains six types of trout and headed upstream. A couple of hours later I paused in the splendid scenery, watching two Osprey taking the fish that continued to elude me. I heard the crackle of rushes from the bankside, I was mid-river and it was about 4’ - 6’ deep. I looked behind me and the rushes were being brushed aside, squeaky bum time!!!!. Merde! A bear can make 30 mph at a gallop. I was just going to pop my lifejacket and disappear on the river current when a Spaniel poked it’s beautiful face out of the rushes and smiled at me. I hastily changed my nappy and continued fishing, moving slowly back to the car, a mile away. 
When I got there the “Bear” was in the act of munching my sandwiches and biscuits which the GF thought it needed as it, “must be starving!” Later, back at the B&B it transpired that the dog would wait on the ranch porch until it saw a rod whipping the water, then trail the owner back to their car, anglers always carry food. 

Yesterday I wrote about the building skills and speed in Shenzhen
Today THIS is on the BBC website. :-(((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.