Slow down!

I was having an early start to avoid the rain. When I woke up, the forecast had all changed and I had an hour and a half head-start to avoid the double drops.  But, I got myself out of the door at 6.40 and it was raining!  

How could this be? 

I did have a moment's hesitation, thinking I should sit it out, but I set off regardless, knowing teaching would be on the horizon later.  

Thankfully, I had a dry ride (after the first few spots) until I reached Kettlewell where I could see the valley filled with dark grey grunge.  I was hoping it might pass to the right before I arrived but that wasn't to be and I had a few minutes' dousing from the edge of blackness. 

Very thankful most of my winter kit was on, I time-wasted in the shelter of the toilets, drying my wet leg-warmers with tissue paper in the hope it would clear through. And sure enough, it did.

This was the blue sky I was waiting for but I had to stop countless times for photos so that I didn't catch up the cloud ahead.  (Don't be impressed, it was travelling super-slow!)

From here, I enjoyed a sun-ladened, verdant green valley that was warming up nicely.  It was an added bonus to stop to chat with M near Ilkley who I haven't seen to talk to for a couple of years.

I've gone from winter kit to shorts in the back garden.  It's not easy to snatch rides in this month of heavily scattered heavy showers so I'm pleased with this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.