Crazy girls

She called tonight. I missed it as my phone was on silent for the first time in months (because I went TO A REAL CONCERT!!!). She hasnt called since the "send me my music please" call on Sunday morning, but I called back about 45 minutes later and she answered. She apologised that she hasn't spoken to me much. Basically, she's having too much fun. They've been out playing on the astro pitch. Or they've been playing games together. "oh it's just crazy here at the moment, mama". The place sounded noisy and happy as she talked to me. People kept coming in and chatting to her. While we were talking, her and these friends did a selfie which she sent me. She told me that her best friend in class (the other Catie, not too surprisingly now known as Catie with a C) has made her some scrunchies. She told me about her first athletics lesson today (we ran there and back, lots of times, learning how to do different things) and how she misses every science lesson that gets prep. She said that she's got a new bassoon study. That her teacher gives her lots of scale work (she loves scale work). When I asked her the best thing about the day (after she declared it an "alright day, some good things, some meh things") was "one word... BASSOON!"

She was very pleased to get the new piano pieces I had sent her, from her piano mentor, so she can prepare for a proper in person lesson with her at half term. One of them has a very scary line that is not the usual two lines of music.... Its three! And the description from libby is "monster chords that need some pedal trickery.... She has the brain for it though"... I can't even read it never mind contemplate playing it!

Anyway, Katie chatted for just over 10 minutes before asking to go play "because on a Tuesday we have friends time, it's the only night Amelie is here so we enjoy being together".

Not sure I could ask for more, really, could I....?


Side note.... I want to say how much I value the support and encouragement you are all giving me as we do this here thing... It does make a difference to me, and I'm so grateful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.