Staffordshire Field and Sky for 3000th Blip

This morning we took the malfunctioning cuckoo clock to my ex Head of Department who interviewed me in a cupboard for my very first job in Wolverhampton in 1977 when I started teaching earning £3000 per annum.  Strange but true.  He went on to be Deputy Head and I took his place as Head of English eventually and that is where we both stayed for the whole of our teaching careers.  He now repairs clocks in his spare time.  It was lovely to see him and his wife this morning as it is a few years now since we last met up.  We had lots of news to share.

We drove there round the motorway but decided to come home across country.  This shot was taken somewhere between Cannock and Penkridge.  I think I was facing westwards and I am guessing that the lump of a hill on the horizon to the left of the shot could be the Wrekin.  If there are any Staffordshire folk out there, you may be able to correct that if necessary.  I think in my blip journey I have probably been all round the Wrekin metaphorically and literally several times.  And I have met so many of you wonderful Blippers en route!  Thank you for your wonderful company and support over the last few years...

It was a much longer journey home but we saw some interesting things including the relative emptiness of the M6 Toll road.  It has been a gorgeous day all day here although I did hear some thunder this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.