Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunset along the Staffordshire Way

A busy day, collecting timber sleepers for a small garden project, then to Wolverhampton for an MOT on my car.  It was die to be finished in a couple of hours so I walked into the city as it had been some time since I'd ventured in. I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were still some new stores, despite areas of boarded up shop fronts.  Frasers has taken over the old Debenhams store and at least the group has made some effort to make it look welcoming (anyone who walks into a typical Sports Direct store would be surprised - it is of course the same group and they have their sports offer on the lower ground floor).  

Back to the garage and the news that the car has failed due to a gash in the tread of one of the tyres, they were just getting a replacement organised.  Also a wiring fault needed rectifying.  This caused some consternation as I was die on the golf course!  They did sterling work and I made it to the course, just as my tee time was due.  A mad rush, the comical scene of me chasing golf balls across the car park as I rushed to get ready.  Heart still racing as I stood over my ball on the tee ........... and then I hit my first shot to the opening par 3 to 10 feet from the pin!  Oh joy.  One putt later and all was forgotten.  Sadly that was the pinnacle of my achievement, it all went downhill after that!

We had stunning weather, just enough rain for some rainbows (sadly no camera).  Afterwards I headed across to Sedgley to do some pre planning of an aerial shoot of Baggeridge Country Park, before ending up on this track at sunset.  I even saw a hare lolloping across the fields.

A long but thoroughly enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.