COVERED AGAINST THE COLD

I cycled to the Madestein park. Near the big pond on the wooden bridge a police car. A bit further I see Hetty, the woman that always cares for the swans sitting in the grass a swan at her feet. Two policemen standing near her. I walk towards them and see that the swan is dead. She caresses his head. She had found him floating in the water and with an enormous branch, that she pointed at, she had managed to bring him to the shore.
A swan pair swims nearby and another swan at a distance. I give them some bread. 'Did you murder him?' Hetty asks the male swan. And she wonders if the lonely swan is the partner of the dead one, searching.
Then she makes a decision to carry the dead one to the house at the other side, if I can watch her bike and belongings.
A heartbreaking sight seeing her holding the dead one, head downwards on the long neck. She had tried to push the water out of the lungs and in a conspiring tone she tells me that she had breathed upon him. To no avail.
Nature means war among the animals too.
The heron flew towards the pieces of food I had for him/her. I had not bought it. It was given to us. We are vegetarians so I took it with me for the heron and it was devoured very quickly.

My haiku:

Young swan no escape
For you from the stronger one
Death is white today

And the french proverb:

Neither the sun nor death can be regarded without flinching.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.