Life in Cyprus with Isabella and Harriet

Julia and the twins are really enjoying life in Cyprus. They do miss being with all of the cousins at times, and we certainly miss being with them all the time. However, thank goodness we are living in the 2020's and have things like Messenger so that we can see them in real-time.
Nice to see them being brought up with true military traditions i.e. they are sitting at the outside bar of Julia's quarter.
When I was posted abroad, first time was in 1968, the only method of communication, from the island of Masirah, was post or 'Snail Mail' as it is referred to nowadays. Same when I was in Singapore and Malta. Things did improve slightly when I was in Gan. Being in communications one of my pleasant jobs was to arrange, and control, calls on the satellite  link back to families in the UK. It was also good to be in that position as I could use any extra time for my call so would have much longer than anyone else. 
When I was in Komsomolsk, Ukraine,  in1997, things got a little 'primitive' again and we were restricted to international calls using the Immarsat satellite telephone. The company I was teaching for the fortnight, GOK, didn't really like using it as it was so expensive but I got along with them very well and they would allow me 5 minutes or so each day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.