Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

How the mighty have fallen

The howling South Westerly, which has been banging away overnight, claimed a victim in next door's garden. Oh dear, how sad, never mind!
Many moons ago I found a location on the Maddison River, West Yellowstone National Park; we had landed at Denver, driven north and west a bit. Our drive took us all the way from Denver, Salt Lake, Yellowstone, Banff National Park, then west to Vancouver and finally south to Seattle. I determined that one day we would return and I would fish that water. About eight years later we saved enough to go back to Emigrant, on the Yellowstone River, back to meet friends and have three weeks in the mountains. 
The Garden Fairy wanted to relax, just read and look at the scenery. I can’t do that, I dislike lying on beaches, not that there were any, and need to ‘do’ something. So all my fly fishing kit went with us. After a few days we went seeking my spot on the Maddison. We found it! When I was kitted up I also found a snake, showed herself, who had a fit as I annoyed it with my rod tip. It was lying in the path and I needed to pass it. When I finally got in the water I was in Heaven and utterly relaxed. It was then I noticed a herd of Bison slowly grazing about 150 yards away. They were used to anglers, I left them alone they left me alone, but they knew I was there. What magnificent creatures. 
Gradually tourists stopped their cars on the nearby road and many were the, “Oh ma Gaaaaaad!” cries from the assembled ‘Murrikans. Then there came the throbbing rumble of two Harley Davidson’s, a couple we had met a day or so earlier, the lady had taught Elaine how to pack lightly for two weeks on the road, which came in handy when we got our own Goldwing 1500 and went touring the continent of Europe. The bikers watched the Bison, got back on their bikes and wound them up. The lady was in front of her husband’s bike, as they revved up to leave I waved goodbye. Forgetting her bike was now in gear she raised her left hand, which meant that the clutch was released, suddenly she was hurtling down the road, out of control and screaming. Her husband and I were in hysterics. 
We have always maintained, fortunately, that when possible we would do what we wanted to do and achieve as early as possible in life, because sitting in an armchair wishing we had been there and done that was not going to happen. Now I have to sit and think, it was forced on me, but we have been there and done that. Our grandsons understand Grandpa’s philosophy. Get out there, have a bloody good crack at life and live with memories, not regrets. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.