fixing things

It was pretty wet day today. I managed a dry walk by going out as soon as I was out of bed this morning, but spent the rest of the day indoors.

I tried to avoid doing housework by taking a toaster to bits. We bought a Dualit toaster about 30 years ago and I do remember replacing an element once, but I think it has been relegated to the cellar for a long time. These toasters aren't cheap, but I've always like the fact that they can usually be fixed when they go wrong instead of throwing them away and getting another one. First, I gave it a through clean, brush and polish. Then I plugged it in to see if any of the elements needed replacing..and it tripped the RCD. So the next step will be to  replace the fuse. I'll do that another day. If all else fails, you can send the whole thing off to Dualit down in Sussex and they will tell you what needs doing and how much it will cost. All for the sake of making a slice of bread brown and crispy :-)

I also fixed my 2nd vaccination appointment. D had had his letter and so had most of the people I know who had their 1st one when I did. I found out through the nhsinform website that I did have an appointment but just hadn't received the letter yet. Lucky I made the effort to find out as I couldn't make that date. Not so easy to rearrange, though - there was only one appointment available in the next week and that was in Newton Stewart (50 miles away). 

After that, I fixed our tea, and ate it. Back at work tomorrow with real customers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.