A day in the life

By Shelling

Aquamat

During my walk I strolled across the meadows on Alvaret-plain to look for a certain kind of orchid, Neotinea ustulata, but it hadn't arrived to this particular meadow yet, though there were masses of other types of orchids. This is the high season for those plants right now and my island is famous for the variety and the amount of rare species. This year seems a great year for them.

I also found an automat for watering cows. They take care of the technique themselves by pressing their muzzle towards the lever a couple of times and they get fresh, clear and cool water pumped up from the well. As you can see it's been heavily used.

I also saw a viper hiding in the grass, our only venomous snake in this country. I hurried away to seek shelter in the nearby stone wall when it "heard" me and I didn't have time to get a better picture. It was about 40 cm and the biggest I've seen here. 

New landlord, new habits. They were out planting potatoes in the last light of the sunset.  They are small time farmers and don't have all the fancy machines. Two people feeding potatoes from a plastic bucket down a tube that distributes the potatoes in the ground somehow. A nice rural picture to have outside your window anyhow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.