Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Wet

Is an understatement. A much wilder night than I anticipated. Checked awning at 1am and it was billowing but not too bad. At 4am something didn't feel right with the gusts go to look and 2 doors were open and it was ballooning trying to take off. I headed out in my dressing gown moved the pick up to shelter that direction then spent some time repegging the awning. The ground was so wet the awning was immediately pulling out the pegs. After some interesting angles and double pegging I got it all secured and was a bit like a drowned rat dragged through a hedge backwards. Got dried and warmed up then headed out with the dogs for our swim. I mean walk! Poor horses were cold too so put their rugs on. They were excited about the rugs but also a bit jumpy so took a lot of calm talk to settle them. Not like them to be so highly strung but not surprising with the weather. That was me soaked to the skin again! Thankfully a lot calmer this afternoon still a bit wet!

"Long stormy spring-time, wet contentious April, winter chilling the lap of very May; but at length the season of summer does come." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.