helenann

By helenann

Couscous and Covid

After a disturbed night, because it was so wild and windy outside, I got  up relatively early to go to get my second  Covid  vaccination. So far, thirteen hours later, I am feeling a lot better than after  the first; just a bit tired.
All day it has been too windy and showery to photograph any outdoor plants.  
I finished reading Andrea Levy's excellent novel,  "Small Island", about the trials and tribulations  faced by the diaspora of Jamaican immigrants  who came here during, and  after, WW2.    
Lately, I have found myself reading so many books , written over the past twenty years, about  WW2, from different points of view, including life in occupied France, occupied  Netherlands, in Spain, during the siege of Leningrad, as well as in Britain.
I wonder  if in  fifty or so years' time, the stories of  lives lived during  the Covid 19 pandemic will prove an inspiration for many new novels?

This  evening I took a risk by deciding  to  cook couscous with halloumi cheese, mushrooms,and peppers(see photo), because the last time I made this dish I broke a tooth while eating it. No such misfortune tonight.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.