Texas Life

By txlife

Missing Town

This community marker sits on a fence around a ranch about 8 blocks from my home, just across the street from my subdivision. Research has produced nothing about the history or origin of the name or community. I pass by this sign several times a week and always wonder about it. Was this really a settlement of some sort? Is it more a sign for amusement about a family named Madsen who have 24 family members living in the area? The sign doesn't seem official, nor does it look all that old (one clue is the abject lack of bullet holes.)

My favorite townsite marker from my travels around Texas so far is this one. That town, in Jim Wells County in south Texas, is apparently gone, and there's another one, actually incorporated as a city, in far east Texas along Caddo Lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.