Build Me Up, Buttertubs

I can't say the mixed May weather is altogether appealing, but it is a treat when you're really not sure whether to go for it or not, whether you'll get wet or not, and somehow it all goes to plan.

I was on my way at 6.35am with Plans A to D up my sleeve and plenty of miniature emergency kit stashed in pockets.  As usual, the dry start to the day began as spits of rain but, undeterred, that would work for Plan D.  

I chuckled in Langstrothdale when I saw a vague shadow of myself on the road ahead, noting that at least I had seen an element of sunshine. Amazingly, heading up Fleet Moss, the sun came out!  This was supposed to be where I was going to get caught out.

Not getting too carried away cheering (I was eyeing up some relatively close black clouds), I plodded on up and over into Wensleydale.  Yards from the cafe, a few more spits of rain welcomed me in.

There were still options here but I was feeling good, the forecast was looking like I might at least make it over the next hill before getting wet and that old trick of someone asking me where I was going as I left, committed me to Plan A.

Buttertubs.  And here's more sunshine to carry me upwards.  I had a little pause here as I spotted this barn revelling in the light too and continued on my way.  I'm trying not to grin at this point in case I tempted fate, but this route is one of the finest, especially when you're riding an increasingly strong southerly and you're past the point of deciding to turn back into it.

I don't know whether I missed it, but I think this shed has gone. Not that I was going to stop here for a picture today, the cloud was building and I was keen to get as close to the railway station as I could before getting wet.

Now, if I hadn't missed the shortcut through to the main road, I might have been almost completely dry.  Instead, I gritted my teeth for: a not too heavy shower on the last hill; hitting the headwind; and, a steep up to the station.  It's not the kindest of finishes but I was overjoyed.

The train was on time. The waiting room was open.  The snack trolley was at my carriage door. What more can you ask for?  Oh yes, no punctures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.