Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Sand Martins #64

What a difference a bit of sun makes! After really 3 dull days with a lot of wind, we have had a much better day weather wise. The sun came out for a few minutes and there was no rain whilst we were out, although the wind was still reasonably strong - we'll take it though! 
Today was a trip up to Cley-next-the-sea where we found NWT Cley Marshes and Salthouse reserve. Not quite as many species today, but still over 35 and some nice views of the marsh harriers again. But my favourite part of the day was a walk along the beach at Salthouse to see the sand martins. There is a large bank facing the sea and you can just sit quietly underneath it and watch the comings and goings. I tried to photograph the birds coming out of their nest holes, but after about 30 shots of the bank and no martins I gave up. Very occasionally they would sit outside their nest hole or come down the bank and pick off insects from the sand, so I was able to get a few shots that I was happy with. I would have spent much more time there if I was on my own, but hubby wasn't quite as keen, so we moved on :) 
It was a very good day and after nearly 17,000 steps we were both a bit weary when we got back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.