WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The things we do for blip

Ever since we returned from Begur in January, we have had no complaints about Orange -- they have done us proud. But yesterday afternoon the Internet connection packed up, and it was still down this morning. So after about half an hour I'd run out of work. Hard to survive without an internet connection for nearly 24 hours!

I took advantage of the fact that S had to go to the dentist to get him to drop me off at McDonald's. I truly can't remember the last time I was in a McDo's -- it must be well over a decade. The place was deserted when I got there, except for one other person who was clearly there for the free wifi too; I bought a coffee and took a quick photo to record this historic moment before settling down to post yesterday's backblip -- of course -- and download several hundred accumulated emails. Please have a look at yesterday's blip if you haven't already because I'm dead chuffed with it, and it's better than today's :)

The McDo coffee wasn't bad at all, though it would have been better in a proper cup, and it was a nice quiet environment. But within a few minutes of midday hordes of young men came pouring in, forming a queue right across the restaurant. Clearly apprentices from the local training centre. A recent report found that fast food restaurants have overtaken traditional sit-down-and-be-served restaurants in France for the first time, and on this evidence I can believe it.

Anyway, the inside of McDonald's is hopefully an unrepeatable blip for me (normal Orange service now resumed), so I chose it as a "journal shot". It's also a departure from my normal type of blip subject, so I thought it would make a change. Otherwise, I would have blipped yet another cloudscape with vines and I've posted too many of those lately. It was a rather spectacular cloud though, and there are vines and plane trees in it if you're feeling a lack of them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.