helenann

By helenann

The Oyster Plant

Last year I sowed some seeds of Salsify (Tragopogon porrifolius) which a friend gave me. Plants grew, but didn't flower. However the first flowers are now appearing on the top of metre tall stems, and are these really quite striking purple flowers, which tend to close in the early afternoon. 
It is also called the oyster plant because, apparently, if the long, white roots (like thin parsnips) are boiled, they taste like oyster. It seems I missed my chance, as they are best eaten in the plant's first winter. After flowering the root is too tough. Still, I only ever really wanted the flowers.

Today, there have  been frequent heavy  showers of rain interspersed with a bit of bright  sun, so not worth walking/ cycling far, nor doing much in the garden. Went to see a jolly physiotherapist about pains in my shoulders and neck. She was helpful and positive, which I found very encouraging.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.