About to turn

By jMcLean

Raindrops on roses

Cool and rainy today, a respite from the cicada din. Lots of errands, lots of laundry, and a fun piano lesson with Janessa who persists in playing "In the Hall of the Mountain Lion." She makes me smile.

Dinner conversation:

Me: W, maybe we shouldn't read at dinner. The kids are missing our sparkling conversation.
W: Oh, right. [closes Economist] What did you want to talk about?
D: Nothing. I just want to eat.
I: No, feel free. [gestures generously at my book]
D: Dad, in "Sink the Bismarck" did they use real footage?
W: I've never seen it.
D: Yeah you have, we watched it together.
W: We did?
D: Yes, don't you remember?
W (bemused): Are you sure that was me? 
D: Who else would it have been?
W: I think it must've been Uncle Earl.
D: Who's Uncle Earl?
I: I don't like Uncle Earl.
W: He's a real couch potato.
Me: D, did you have salad?
W: His father is the Fairfax Ghost. [that's another story]
Me: You can tell when D's trying not to laugh...his nostrils flare.
D: [laughing in spite of himself] Who's Uncle Earl?

Or something like that. 
Eight more days of high school for Isabelle. Lab report due at midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.