Grannie to the Rescue!

Daughter Number 1 messaged me in the night saying she was struggling with the lack of sleep as Matty was cluster feeding. She thought she was having a bit of a panic attack at 4am. I was due to go up at lunch time but she asked me to come up earlier so I set off straight after breakfast. The traffic getting up was shocking and it took me over 2 hours which was a shame but when I arrived, she was on a video call with a support Midwife who was helping her out. Luckily the midwife was advising everything I was going to suggest so I was able to help her thought it all.

Firstly - once Matty had fed, I sent mummy and daddy to bed!!! I saw the community midwife in to do a jaundice check on Matty. He's still quite yellow but the levels are going down which was reassuring for DN1. I then sat and cuddled Matty for 3 hours while his parents were sleeping. When his feed was just a little bit over due I changed his nappy to wake him up a bit which then woke DN1 naturally and she felt so much better and ready to start again.

I then helped Spencer through setting up the sterilizer and breast pump and helped DN1 to start expressing so Spencer could give Matty a bottle late evening to allow DN1 to miss a feed and sleep. Everything went really well and DN1 was thrilled with the amount she was able to express.

My sister Jennifer, brother in law, Nephew and Niece then came for their 1st visit and I was on hand to chuck them out if required but it was fine. The kids were calm and Jennifer was very thoughtful and helpful and they came with some gorgeous gifts. 

Spencer then made me dinner. Matty sat quietly in his swinging seat so we could all eat together and I was on hand to pick him up if required while DN1 carried on expressing and eating at the same time.

Spencer then took Matty for a walk while I cleaned the bathroom for them and DN1 got herself ready for bed. She was going to leave Spencer to give Matty his late feed from the bottle for the 1st time then put him to bed, allowing DN1 a well deserved sleep.

On my way home, I got a picture of Spencer in the pub with Matty fast asleep in his carry cot!!!! He finally got the chance to wet the babies head!!!

Then by all accounts - the feeding went well, the sleep went well and order has been restored in camp!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.