What's in a name?

A lot apparently.  I walked around a local cemetery for a bit and was struck by some of the very unusual names.  Magor, Diama and Keziah were all new ones for me. I included the stone on the left not because it had unusual names but because the layout was so unusual.  A curved alignment of words  was not common in the 19th century grave stones and I found it quite whimsical.   I think the prize for the most unusual name  from the past must go to the son of my 9th great grandmother, Mary Dyer.  She named the boy...wait for it...Mahershallalhashboz!  It is an ancient Hebrew name.  Quite a burden to place on a wee lad.  I can't even pronounce it!  I hope he went by "Maher".  

What is the most unusual name you've ever found on a grave stone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.