CalicoCat

By CalicoCat

Insects......

Some are helpful and some are not

When I was out walking around the island today, I noticed that the Heals All flowers were covered in bees.   I'm not sure what kind of bees they were, but they were very busy going from plant to plant.   They seemed friendly and  left me alone while I stopped to take their photos.
 
The extra is a Dock Spider, another insect that is welcome here as well.   This one really does live under the dock but very seldom shows her face.  She eats a variety of things such as insects, tadpoles and minnows and is not poisonous and will not bite a person.    

The insect that we have on the island now that is definitely not welcome is the gypsy moth.   The larvae eat the leaves and can weaken or kill the trees.   There was an infestation last summer that weakened many of our trees and we are concerned that some of them won't survive another infestation again this summer.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.