Sand Castle

Man...I hate to put myself on twice in the same week. But...it's the first sand castle I've made in 2 years.

We used to make some big sand castles down here. Uncle Steve, my dad, and me. The cafe owner at the beach would let us use her water hose, and would occasionally even give us a big drink. Those times are gone. New owners...not nearly as nice.

So...off I went to the other end of the island. The tide was in, so I didn't have very far to lug the water.

2 elderly "gentlemen" asked..."So...you never outgrew the playing in the sand, huh?" Both of them found out what a shovel full of sand to the face felt like.

But, that wasn't even the worst comment of the morning. A couple from my OWN state...Michigan...called me a troll. You have to know our state to appreciate that one. Upper Peninsula people... live above the bridge (Mackinac)...and Lower Peninsula people live under the bridge. Hence...I'm a troll. Yoopers (that's what we call them) aren't funny.

It felt good to build. The set-up is the worst part. Shovel the sand into a pile...then douse it with water. Then...repeat...repeat...repeat.

I'm hoping that I'm not lame tommorow morning. A couple of castle close-ups, and some flying birds are on my Flickr Page. Hope it works. Flickr is having issues.

I had to chuckle to myself wondering what my grandson Merrick would do to this castle. I'd say he would destroy in...27 seconds...shorter if he could stay on his feet. I might have to throw some sand in his face, too.

5 hours that I'll never get back went into the build.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.