blueredgreen

By blueredgreen

Lacrymosa

I've become a lazy blipper, I hope to rectify this.

This is the view of the innards of Old Saint Paul's where Edinburgh University Singer's performed Mozart's Requiem, many of my friends performed solos or were involved in various capacities. The piece that caught my ear the most, however, wasn't choral at all. It was the 1st of Mendelssohn's Konzertstucke (add umlaut where necessary).

The story said in the programme that the work was written during Mendelssohn's visit to the famous clarinetist Baermann's household. The challenge for the 23-year-old Felix was to compose the piece during the time it took for the Baermanns (Baermenn?) to make their (not so famous) strudel. The piece was completed in time and strudel was had by all and afterwards the work was performed by Baermann and his son Carl.

I hope this long story makes up even slightly for my absence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.