Back to Symphony Hall

And my beloved CBSO (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra).

I bought the ticket not sure if I’d be brave enough to go. Today, I wanted to support the concert, and not just be a donation. 

Everything was so different. Centenary Square  has been transformed. Water features. A new frontage for Symphony Hall. My blip is of one of the very few people around, having fun on roller skates. 

We were VERY socially distanced, I had the entire row to myself, but everyone spoke and were  so pleased to be back. Before the concert I was talking to a cellist and a violinist currently studying at the Birmingham Conservatoire. 

My extra shows the interior of Symphony Hall, with space for the huge orchestra required for Shostakovich Symphony no 5. 

When the musicians emerged they seemed pleased to see us. The Principal cellist nodded to me in welcome and I was thrilled to see him as I know he was desperately ill with Covid last year. 

The concert was magnificent. I’d not really appreciated what a gap it was in our lives to have this absence of live music. 

It certainly didn’t feel normal - but we can have hope…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.