Fuentes3

By Fuentes3

San Salvador de Priesca

Pre-romanesque church, consecrated in 921AD, out in the country on the Camino de Santiago. This back view shows the camino waymark on the church. Also some original pre-romanesque windows. The church itself contains wall-paintings, of which it is claimed that a number are original 10th century.
The front view, in the extra, is probably a better photo but contains fewer  items that may interest people. 
I was here two or three years ago sitting watching as a group of pilgrims were passing by. They may have been American - certainly the person leading them was. I listened briefly as he told them about the church, but when he told them it had been built in 1947 I couldn´t stay quiet. "You´re about a thousand years out", I said, loudly, in English, clearly to their surprise. He looked at me, turned his back on me, positioned himself between me and his audience, and kept talking...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.