*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

It's worth talking about

I'm glad people are more able to talk about their mental health these days, although there's still a way to go I think.

No one discussed depression or anxiety when I was growing up and I sometimes wonder if things would have been different for me if they had.

My dad was the first person I knew who was bipolar (manic depression as it was called then) and I remember his diagnosis all being a bit hush-hush. Must have been hard for him, although like my autism diagnosis was for me, I think it almost came as a relief as it gave him answers and closure.

To this day I wonder if he'd been diagnosed now, rather than 30+ years ago, would they have found he was autistic/ADHD rather than bipolar. Who knows?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.