Since Covid restrictions eased, my annual pass allows me to drop in to the Botanic Garden whenever I want without booking. It's a real treat - radically different every time I go. That's because they have professional gardeners removing plants past their prime and replacing them with others from the off-limits greenhouses. Today they were pulling out beautiful cream and purple tulips and dumping them into wheelbarrows. If I'd asked I could have taken some for my garden but the people who know a million times more than I do about plants told me that the bulbs are spent and won't be very good next year. So instead I revelled in the fabulous colours of this honeywort.

This evening Tivoli and I braved the cinema - my first visit for well over a year - to see Ammonite. What a disappointment. Francis Lee has colonised the life of the nineteenth century palaeontologist, Mary Anning, a poor, working class, dissenting woman who earned a living from selling sea shells on the sea shore and whose extraordinary fossil discoveries and insights were discussed by men at the Geological Society of London where she was not allowed to go. 

There is a fascinating story to tell about her contribution to science and about the exploitation of poor women but instead the director exploits a poor woman for his own fantasy about her sex life. There are two entangled stories in this film which should have been two quite separate films.

But don't let me put you off. Most reviewers are much more enthusiastic than we were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.