madowoi

By madowoi

Lilacs in the Dooryard Blooming

After lilacs come out, 
The air loves to flow about them
The way water in wood-streams
Flows and loves and wanders.
I think the wind has a sadness
Lifting other leaves, other sprays....
I think the wind is a little selfish
About lilacs when they flower.

Lilacs, by Hilda Conkling

A coworker brought some lilacs in today and every time I walked past my desk I got a pleasant whiff of them. I've always liked lilacs because I have some special memories of them as a child. This particular bush must be very old, and was probably planted here before our house was built (there use to be another small house on this spot). It hasn't been doing so well, which is sad, but it still puts out some beautiful blossoms. I'm a big fan.

Apologies to anyone expecting some Walt Whitman with this post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.